Do you believe in God?

A friend today asked me if I believe in God. I said yes, of course. She said to think of the qualities God possesses in relation to me: is he loving, forgiving, gentle? And then she said think of the qualities of the partners in my relationships. Did they match at all? Were my partners loving, forgiving gentle? No. I would also add that my God is trustworthy, honest, generous, and uplifting. I couldn’t say that about any of my partners, either.

The idea is not to assign God-like qualities to a human being. The idea is to seek in a partner the qualities that make you feel good and give you what you need. Not materially, but spiritually. That idea gave me pause for thought. I had actually been with partners who did not give me anything resembling loving kindness or inspiration. And my part in that is clear. I did not ask for it.

Published in: on February 26, 2011 at 4:41 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/do-you-believe-in-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Do You Believe In God…

    […]And then she said think of the qualities of the partners in my relationships. Did they match at al?[…]…


Leave a Reply

