Establishing personal boundaries

I’ve touched on setting boundaries before and it’s one of the most important things I need to do before I get into another relationship. Personal boundaries are about teaching people how to treat you and letting them know when the way they are behaving is unacceptable to you. I didn’t know how to do this before so I would feel very trapped and panicky if someone behaved in a way that compromised my self-respect. I did not feel I had the right to ask for something different so I usually just left–or stayed and felt miserable.

I understand now that boundaries are about being honest and clear about what you expect. Boundaries are about maintaining independence and a sense of self rather than becoming co-dependent or being manipulated. They are about loving and taking care of yourself. They stop you from compromising your beliefs and values in favour of someone else’s and give you the right to say no without guilt.

I am not yet completely clear on boundaries but I have begun to develop and implement them in my life because I know I deserve to be treated the way I want to be treated.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/establishing-personal-boundaries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would suggest the following link

    http://special-needs.families.com/blog/teaching-children-relationship-boundaries

    It is so relavent

    • Thank you for the link; that’s very kind of you 🙂


Leave a Reply

