Easter Sunday: Rebirth, renewal

sex, celibate, abstinence, relationship, hope, men, women,

I’m always excited about Easter Sunday because it is a time of rebirth and renewal. The fact that it occurs in Spring makes it even sweeter because the warm weather is arriving, the flowers begin blooming and the circle of life continues. I have come through the first eight months of my chaste trip unscathed and having uncovered some amazing things about myself. I am no longer too bothered about attention from the opposite sex, although once in a while I am gripped with fear that I will be single for the rest of my life. Not because I don’t have opportunities but because none of those opportunities appeal to me.

I’d rather be celibate for the rest of my life than engage in online dating which seems more like online prostitution to me (except nobody gets paid). It’s far too early for me to get into worrying about what’s going to happen years down the road. I need to focus on the gratitude I have for how far I’ve come these last eight (almost nine) months of living sex-free. The lack of distraction from the opposite sex has allowed me to get to know myself much more intimately and enjoy my own company without considering whether or not I’ll meet a man.

I’m busy working on a life that is full on its own, so that if a good man enters he will be simply the icing on the cake rather than the eggs and flour. You know, you can have a cake without icing and it’s just not as tasty; without eggs and flour the cake doesn’t exist. I want my life to be a cake unto itself – free-standing and icing optional.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/easter-sunday-rebirth-renewal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Word. 🙂


Leave a Reply

