Life without sex…so far

sex, abstinence, actress, oscar, celibate, body image, relationship

Amy Adams: "I wasn't put on this earth to look good in a swimsuit."

Feast to Famine began as a personal blog on my evolution during a year-long phase of self-imposed celibacy. By the title, you can imagine I was anything but abstinent before I began this journey on August 1, 2010. When I first started (or stopped, rather), I thought getting through the physical cravings for sex would be my battle. I was counting down the months until I could finally–yippee!–have sex again.

After a while, I stopped tossing and turning in bed and realized this journey was about much more than surviving without a man’s hands on me. It was about discovering who I am without the attention of men and realizing that I am a person and not an object of somebody else’s desire. I began to think of myself as a subject rather than an object, if that makes any sense.

It doesn’t matter to me anymore if a man looks at me. I don’t hate it and I don’t like it. I don’t feel like throwing him against a wall if I don’t like him and I don’t feel as though he validates my existence if I do. Before, if I was having a bad day, all it would take is for a man to tell me I was beautiful and I would feel better. No longer do I rely on that type of external validation.

Being sexually abstinent has opened my eyes to myself in ways I never imagined. I don’t look critically at my body anymore because it’s sole purpose is not to attract men. It’s to do things. It’s me and I love it for that.

When I began this journey I had as my goal a healthy relationship with a man. Although I’d welcome that into my life if it came, I now realize the most important relationship I have is with myself. I’ve learned to love myself without the need of anyone else’s approval. That, to me, is the definition of freedom.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/life-without-sex-so-far/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

