Buddha’s 4 noble truths

crush, sex, abstinence, celibacy, dating, relationship, boyfriend, girlfriend

I read an article today about Buddha’s teachings and the 4 Noble Truths. They are:

1. Suffering exists.

2. Suffering is a result of our attachment to desires.

3. Suffering stops when our attachment to desire stops. 

4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the eightfold path.

I have the feeling Buddha was talking about material desires when he came up with these teachings, although it’s possible he was also referring to desires of the flesh. I realized when reading about Buddha that desire is simply a lack of acceptance of what is, or wanting something you don’t already have. Of course, that makes us unhappy! That’s why my unrequited crush has been driving me crazy, and why I’ve decided to let him go, wish him all the love in the world–even though it’s not with me.


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/buddhas-4-noble-truths/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: