Baby, you’re a firework

victoria day, fireworks, sex, abstinence, relationship, celibacy

We went to see fireworks tonight. There were no official displays close to home so we went to the park where some teenage boys were letting sparks fly. It was sweet and made me think about a conversation I had with my dad (of all people) about the fact that most of what motivates men is impressing women. Aristotle Onassis said all the money in the world would mean nothing without women.

My pre-teen daughter was unimpressed by the modest display and I felt like saying: “They’re trying so hard and it’s all for you! Show some appreciation!” But, then, perhaps that’s why my daughter will be better than I’ve been about this relationship stuff. She’s not a people pleaser like me. She tells it like it is. If they want to impress her, well, they better pull out the big guns.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/baby-youre-a-firework/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

