Conversations With God

sex, abstinence, celibate, seven deadly sins

A while ago I asked God to help me stop being distracted by feelings of lust. It took a long time and has been very frustrating because no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t stop looking at men (and one man in particular) in that way. Then I read something Neale Donald Walsh said (he wrote Conversations With God): that being attached to nothing is the source of his happiness. I realized my feelings of lust toward the man in my social circle were somehow based on attachment to hopes about a particular outcome, namely, of us ending up together.

Being attached to something like that can lead you to become manipulative so you can orchestrate the result you have set in your mind. It gets in the way of what God might have planned for you because you are taking control of the situation rather than letting God do his work 🙂 When I understood that happiness comes when you stop being attached to outcomes, the lust seemed to disappear and all of a sudden I just wished the best for this person and had no designs on “ownership” of him or his heart.

I think lust excludes the object of your affection (ironically). It kind of removes their humanity and reduces them to an object or a puppet in your little play called Life. Now that I finally understand that I hope I’ve got this lust thing beat.

Published in: on June 23, 2011 at 3:37 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/conversations-with-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

