Fargo’s Marge Gunderson

Fargo was on TV tonight with that legendary character Marge Gunderson played by Frances McDormand (who won an Academy Award for her trouble). I began watching at the scene in which Margie utters my favourite line in the film to her police partner:

“I’m not sure I agree with you 100% on your police work there, Lou.”

It’s one of the many moments of nuanced feminism in the film as Marge has to navigate around the delicate male ego while also doing her job well. In another scene, a high school classmate arranges to meet Margie who is married and pregnant. When he makes an advance at her she deftly but firmly puts him in his place, again tiptoeing around his ego, assuring him everything is fine, and never losing the sweet smile from her face. She’s a fine example of a strong, feminine woman and it’s one of the few movies that shows how hard it is to be a woman, how much better we have to be just to be considered equal or even in the same league as men.

Frances McDormand’s portrayal of Marge Gunderson in Fargo reminded me why it’s cool to be a woman and not to base the way I feel about myself on what men may think of me or treat me, but to hold my head high in spite of it. And to know I have the right to stand up to them in no uncertain terms without fear of retribution.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/06/29/fargos-marge-gunderson/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I am so inspired by your blog. I have been reading for months now, and I’m amazed at some of the things you say. They’re exactly the way I think, and while I’d love to have the love of my life, I’m not ready right now. I’m so happy that you have taken this journey and shared it with us. P.S. If you liked Conversations with God, read Tomorrow’s God. Maybe check out the movie What the Bleep do we Know, too.


Leave a Reply

