Single and loving it

sex, celibacy, abstinence, relationship, marriage, GodI can’t believe I am almost at the end of my one-year journey of living sex free. The celibate life has been challenging and has led to more self-awareness than I ever thought possible. Surprisingly, abstinence has also led to the feeling that I’m going to stay away from sex for a while longer…even if I do meet a special someone in the near future. I’m pretty convinced I may even wait for marriage before giving it up, although my sister insists I’ll never be able to hold out.

But she can’t see how much I’ve changed inside. The internal shifts have been monumental. I actually feel completely content being single for the first time in my life. When I started the celibate journey I felt like the goal was to have a healthy relationship at the end of it. Well, guess what? I do have a healthy relationship now…with  myself! Funny how that happened. Rather than being in a state of waiting for someone to come along and “complete me” I am finally free of the feeling that I need a man in my life at all. If God decides that’s what I need, fine; if not, that’s fine, too. And the timing is up to the Big Guy as well. I’ve let go of all control over that side of my life.

I feel free, I really do. I don’t need a man. And I can say that without crossing my fingers behind my back.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/single-and-loving-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is so great! I just started my journey only a few months ago…and I’m still working on everything. I’m so glad it worked out for you! It gives me hope to keep working on it and not looking back! 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment! Oh, yes, celibacy is totally worth it as long as you are not just counting down the days and instead using the time to work on yourself. Then you will attract a better partner and know what you want and don’t want.


Leave a Reply

