God and relationships

sex, abstinence, celibacy, boyfriend, single womanI’m very near the end of my one-year celibate journey and, so far, it’s been a character-building experience. My personality has truly improved which is something I didn’t expect. When I began, my goal was simply to better myself so I could attract a better mate. I never thought about self-improvement for its own sake! The idea of living single for any length of time was unfathomable to me and I figured as soon as my year was up I’d be eager to get into the relationship of my dreams.

One of the ways I’ve changed, is that I’m quite happy on my own. So, in a sense, I do have the relationship of my dreams: with myself! If a man does enter the picture, I know now what my boundaries are (no texting, for instance) and am ready to impose them. I already applied my “no men in my house alone” rule with a male friend who was cool with it and said he respected me for doing it.

Another way I have grown is that I am happy as I am rather than looking to someone else to “fix me” or make me feel better. I realize I’m the only one who can do that, so rather than looking for someone to stroke my ego, I’m becoming the person I used to want to date. All the qualities I “look for” in a man, I’m developing in myself. I guess I’m becoming my own lover just like my friend suggested (as I wrote about in the last post).

I also learned from Neale Donald Walsch that wanting will only get you more of the feeling of wanting and I don’t want that! I have asked God to give me whatever he thinks I need, whether that’s remaining single or having a partner. I trust Him to make the right decision for me and deliver the perfect outcome for the good of all involved.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/god-and-relationships/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so inspired by your blog. I have been reading for months now, and I’m amazed at some of the things you say. They’re exactly the way I think, and while I’d love to have the love of my life, I’m not ready right now. I’m so happy that you have taken this journey and shared it with us. P.S. If you liked Conversations with God, read Tomorrow’s God. Maybe check out the movie What the Bleep do we Know, too.

    • Thank you so much! I’ve heard about that movie and will check it out asap, also Tomorrow’s God which I haven’t heard of. So glad you’re reading the blog and enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

