Marianne Williamson’s A Return To Love

From Marianne Williamson's A Return To Love

I mentioned in a previous post that I have a low flame for a guy in my circle of friends who is not available. I read a book by Marianne Williamson called A Return To Love and in it she says that when she has feelings for a man that are, ahem, inappropriate, she asks God to take those feelings and use them for His greater purpose. In other words, she doesn’t fight them or resist them as I’ve been doing. As they say, what you resist persists. Not wanting these feelings isn’t making them go away, so they must serve some purpose.

I shared my story with my friend and she said I might end up dating this person in the future, or I have a lesson to learn from the whole experience. She said to keep on working on being the person I want to date. I can do that; keep working on myself. I can’t become any taller…but everything else I seek in an ideal mate I can improve upon in myself.

I’m almost at the end of my one-year journey of celibacy and another attractive man has invited me out (!) I’m mildly interested but I know if I go with him it will only be to get my mind off the other guy and that’s not right. That would be using him and another way I’ve changed over the past year is that I don’t use people and I check my motives constantly. In this case, my motives are less than pure, so I’ve decided not to take the fellow up on his offer. I’m not willing to be careless with someone else’s feelings just to feed my own ego. That’s past behaviour. I’m beyond that now.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/marianne-williamsons-a-return-to-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was reading the shadow effect book, and deepak chopra said to a lady who is asking him where can I find the right one? does he exists?

    and deepak replied to her, “stop looking for the right one, be the right one.”

    i thought that was a beautiful story don’t u think.

    • SUCH a beautiful story. You have to love yourself first before you even think about loving someone else.


Leave a Reply

