Joyce Meyer’s Confidence Boosters

God, spirituality, Christianity, Joyce Meyer, Church, relationship, JesusAs I’ve grown and learned to set boundaries, my confidence has improved and I can say that I love and care for myself and know my needs are just as important as anyone else’s. I have learned to stand up for myself in a way that is peaceful and kind rather than angry and hurtful. I go out of my way not to hurt anybody even the least little bit. Yesterday, for instance, I was feeling incredibly irritable and I said a little prayer asking God to please not let my bad mood cause pain to anyone else. I accepted my feelings but I didn’t want them to hurt anyone. I continued on with my day feeling quite irritable and testy but I realized when I went to sleep that my prayer had been answered! In spite of my ornery mood, I had not taken it out on anyone else, not even in the smallest way.

I know it was God and not me because I was not trying  to be good. I was quite surprised at the end of the night to realize I had not inflicted my bad mood on anyone even though I had accepted rather than denied my feelings (or perhaps for that very reason.) Knowing your prayers will be answered is a profound confidence booster. Here are 9 more tips for building self-confidence from Joyce Meyer via The Choice-Driven Life:

1. Never think or speak negatively about yourself.

2. Meditate on and speak positive things about yourself.

3. Never compare yourself with anyone else.

4. Focus on your potential not your limitations.

5. Find something you like to do and that you do well – then do it over and over.

6. Have the courage to be different. Be a God-pleaser, not a man-pleaser.

7. Learn to cope with criticism.

8. Determine your own worth – don’t let other people do it for you.

9. Keep your flaws in perspective.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/joyce-meyers-confidence-boosters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was in Kenya for work last month; got invited to a local church out in the boonies by a pastor/bishop I’d met through friends. Two hours out into the countryside (Mariakani), I was greeted warmly by the church folks there. My pastor friend preached the sermon in Swahili with an English translator just for my benefit. Afterward in conversation, I mentioned that his sermon had reminded me of the practical, gut level stuff that Joyce Meyer offered and asked if he’d ever heard of her. He laughed and told me he’d been on her mailing list for years and had several of her books. “She’s been a big part of forming my understanding,” he explained. Ten thousand miles from home; go figure.

    My wife and I watch Joyce’s show together most mornings. I agree with my African friend, she’s been a big part of forming our understanding. Shedding religion in favor of honest pursuit has occupied the last several decades. Joyce is among the few who’ve helped the process. 🙂

    • Isn’t that amazing! Sounds like a fantastic experience. I did like what she had to say; there is something very unapologetic in her approach.


Leave a Reply

