My dating life: is God having a laugh?

I am beginning to wonder if the time is still not right for me to be in a relationship. Or maybe God has a few more lessons for me to learn before I get there. I scheduled a second date with the guy I saw last week…I say ‘guy’ because I can’t call him a man – he’s a boy, young and a bit self-involved, but nice enough, so I want to give him three dates before I make any decision about him. He was at a tournament (he’s an athlete playing at the top tier of his game) so we were to go to a movie when he returned. He kept me up to date throughout the day which was thoughtful and they ended up going the whole distance, winning all their games, so I was happy for him.

Sadly, he didn’t make it back as the weather became very bad and they had to stop and stay for the night. He was extremely apologetic and it was out of his control but I just can’t help feeling that my dating life is getting ridiculous, that God is having a good laugh. I refuse to feel sorry for myself, but I am bewildered by my bad luck.

The other fellow I was interested in stopped talking to me because I expressed my need for him to contact me when he said he would. I waited until he had failed three times to fulfill his intention to call at a certain time and I was clear but certainly not mean in my email. I haven’t heard from him since. I suppose this is a weeding out process and as my friend says “This dating game is not for the faint of heart.” I’m developing a thick skin and I’m not sure if I like that.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/my-dating-life-is-god-having-a-laugh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A quote I found, “Don’t worry, if you’re single God’s looking at you right now and saying… I’m saving this girl for someone special”. I love that quote because it’s very true. I also think you should check out the book All The Rules by Ellen Fein and Sherrie Schneider. I’m reading it right now and it’s proven helpful in more ways than one.

    As far as that guy, I think giving him a chance is fair. Don’t be disappointed if you’re not able to see him because there’s still time, and at least he was communicating with you and that’s always a good thing.

    I also don’t think emailing someone about your expectations, or even telling them your expectations is a good idea. You come off as a nag, and guys don’t like that. I especially found this out when reading both of those books I told you about. Please please please read it! You will thank me later 🙂

    • I did read that book haha! It is really helpful and the funny thing is I find if I go with my gut and don’t overthink I wind up doing the Rules naturally! I know emailing with a complaint is never a good idea but it was a weak moment on my part and I have learned from it. WAIT is my new key word. Sit on my hands if I have to 😛


Leave a Reply

