Entering new relationship territory

It’s been a while since I’ve posted and I’m not about to give you one of those apologies and excuses about my busy life which drives me nuts on other blogs. The reason I haven’t posted is that I may be entering into a relationship and I’m afraid to say the words out loud. We’ve known each other for two months and have just decided not to date other people. This is not a stretch for me as I had been on a total of two dates before meeting him but it does mean I stop looking for dates which is a big step for me. I found myself comparing other guys to this one anyway and they consistently came up short. He just seems like a really good fit and possesses all the qualities I had been hoping for but thought I would never find. I have never received a text message from this man.

He knows I am waiting for marriage to have intercourse or oral sex and he is okay with that. When I asked “how will I ever say no to you?” he said he would not even try because we’ve made an agreement. That is another thing I thought I would never find: a man who is willing to wait. I thought I might end up alone and join a nunnery or something and that was actually okay with me. I’m at the point where I would rather be alone than compromise my boundaries. If I have to lose myself to keep someone else, that person is not worth having.

I’ve worked hard to restore my virtue (abstaining 18 months now) and my friend jokes that I am a born-again virgin. I like that and I am going to keep working to keep my virtue intact. I understand not everyone understands my need to stay celibate till I’m married but I do and that’s what matters. And now the work might be avoiding a pleasure that is so readily available to me with someone I care for and might eventually love. I have learned the greater satisfaction that comes with delaying gratification and not giving in to every whim and desire just because “I wanna”. I’m also encouraged by the fact that my new fella is down with the whole idea. “Imagine the anticipation,” he said. “It’s exciting.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://feasttofamine.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/entering-new-relationship-territory/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing this. You give me hope. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  2. Oh wow! I’m so happy for you doll! That guy is definitely a keeper since he is respectful of your decisions, and is willing to wait because he knows that’s the best way anyway. In the past, I’ve been celibate for 3 years, and I know that it’s a hard thing to do, but well worth it in the end. I’m starting to think I may have to become celibate yet again and we’ll see how that goes.

    I agree that it’s annoying when people apologize that they haven’t blogged.. like, it’s your blog, we’ll wait for you and when you come back act like it’s nothing! haha.. we’re not your boss, just your readers 🙂

  3. This is so exciting! May God richly bless you and your relationship.
    Just post when you have the time. It’s all good.

  4. Yay!!! Congratulations are in order for you. You’ve given me some hope for my own life. I’m also 18 months celibate and its rough. But with everyday comes a learning experience and a new triumph. I’m very happy for you!!! He sounds like a great guy


Leave a Reply

